About Us   Login   Register

Have any questions? 0131 554 2561 contact@awardsnetwork.org


Army Cadets Army Proficiency Certificate

Why this award?

The Army Proficiency Certificate (APC) training syllabus will teach you leadership skills, discipline and give you self-confidence you never thought possible.  You will learn a wide range of transferable skills such as: the ability to command tasks; make decisions under pressure; plan and organise tasks and work as an effective team player as well as independently. These skills will equip you for life and add an extra string to your bow at times when competition for college places and employment is fierce.

As you learn more about each topic and get better at it, you go up through the star levels until you reach four star or even Master Cadet.  Subjects that you learn include the following:

  • Cadet and the Community
  • Drill and Turnout
  • Expeditions
  • Fieldcraft
  • First Aid
  • Junior Cadet Instructor Cadre
  • Navigation
  • Military Knowledge
  • Music
  • Piping and Drumming
  • Senior Cadet Instructor Cadre
  • Shooting
  • Signals
  • Skill at Arms
  • Sport

Who is it for?

​Young people aged 12 and under 18 can join the Army Cadets. At 18+ it is possible to consider a role as an Army Cadets adult volunteer.

What time commitment is required?

Most detachments meet one or two evenings a week with occasional weekend camps and competitions. The days and times vary depending on the detachment but normally it starts at 7pm or 7.30pm and runs for two hours.

Minimum timescales for completion of the Army Proficiency Certificate are: Basic - 3 months, 1-Star - 9 months, 2-Star - 12 months, 3-Star - 18 months, 4-Star + 6 months, Master Cadet + 6 months.

Is the award externally accredited?

Undertaking the Army Proficiency Certificate can also deliver a number of accredited awards, including ( at 1 Star) BTEC Level 1 in Teamwork and Personal Skills for Uniformed Youth Organisations (SCQF level 4); (at 2 Star) Army Cadet Achievement, Teamwork and Citizenship Award (SCQF Level 4); BTEC Level 2 in Teamwork and Personal Development in the Community (SCQF Level 5). ILM Level 2 (SCQF Level 5) and ILM Level 3 (SCQF level 6) awards in Leadership and the SQA Leadership Award are also available. The programme also supports achievement of the externally recognised Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

Provider: Army Cadets

Website: Click here

Budget: Free, Membership Subscription

For Ages: 12 - 18

Time to Complete: 3 Months


  • Sport
  • Volunteering
  • Music
  • Get Outdoors
  • Making friends
  • Adventure
  • Achievement
  • Develop my CV
  • Help get into College or Uni
  • Gain new skills
  • Physical Activity

Type of Involvement:

  • Overnight
  • With Others
  • Local Community
  • On my own
  • Away from home
  • Join a group

Award Recognition:

  • Certificate of Achievement
  • To build skills and experience

Meeting Frequency: Weekly


Contact ACFA Scotland on 01334 472354 , or send an email.